The Ferenc Erkel Museum of Gyula is 150 years old.

A fire gold wreath that Ferenc Erkel received as a national gift in 1888 for his half-century chorister’s jubilee, a helmet from the early Iron Age which is more than 2500 years old and was displayed at the 1889 Paris World Expo... Amongst a few dozen others, these two items represent the 150 year old museum’s tens of thousands of artefacts in the current temporary exhibition.

The Ferenc Erkel Museum is Hungary’s third oldest rural museum. It was founded in 1868 by Janos Mogyoróssy, a noble and steward who was committed to keeping the values of the past. In honour of the 150th anniversary of the museum’s foundation, a temporary exhibition has opened where besides the outstanding artefacts of the museum’s collection, unseen pieces are also showcased to the public. The purpose of the exhibition is to present the often adverse history of the museum, the sacrificial labours of the employees, the prominent components of the tens of thousands of artefacts and along with these to give a worthy introduction to the region’s history.

“The Guardian of Treasures” was built to conform to the unique modernity of the museum’s permanent exhibits. The museum’s displayed historic, archaeological and ethnographic artefacts are emphasized by 21st century interactive tools, installations and spectacular visual effects. Naturally, it is impossible to showcase the museum’s complete collection. For this reason, the promoters of the exhibition chose objects that bear the most interesting, spectacular, exceptional and gripping stories to put on display.

The exhibition can be visited during opening hours from September 8, 2018 to December 31st, 2019 at the Almasy Castle Visitor’s Center in Gyula.