• kenburns1
  • kenburns6
  • kenburns3

The Almásy Mansion in Gyula.

Following the reduction of the territory occupied by the Ottoman Empire, Baron Johann Georg Harruckern of Upper Austria was allowed to purchase almost the entire territory of Békés County fromHoly Roman Emperor Charles VI, the King of Hungary, in return for his services in the wars against the Ottomans. He set about intense repopulation in Békés County. A large number of Hungarians, Slovaks, Germans and Romanians arrived and settled in the county.

The Harruckern family’s permanent residence was in Vienna. In accordance with the usual practice of the time, they had a mansion in town as well as a summer residence set in a large park in the country. The latter was designed by Franz Anton Pilgram, a well-known architect of the age. The layout of the building, which is no longer standing, bore a striking resemblance to that of the former mansion in Gyula. Baron Harruckern was probably satisfied with his mansion near Vienna as he did not commission new plans for the one in Gyula. He simply had a replica of his pleasant Viennese mansion built on his more remote estate.

The construction of the baroque block of the mansion in Gyula was commissioned by his son, Franz Harruckern, upon whose death the building was inherited by Mrs Joseph Wenckheim, née Baroness Maria Teresia Gruber. The mansion had its heyday when it was taken over by Franz Wenckheim, her son, who had extensions added to the building, turning it into a place unparalleled even by Viennese standards. He also had a ridingschool built and exotic plants grown in the park and the conservatory.

Members of the Wenckheim family hosted reigning monarchs on three occasions: Franz I and his daughter Maria Ludovika (the future wife of Emperor Napoleon) in 1807, Emperor Franz Joseph I and his wife Elisabeth in 1857 and Franz Joseph I when he visited military exercises in 1876.

10 of the 13 generals later to be executed in Arad for their part in the Hungarian Revolution surrendered on the premises of the mansion on 23 August 1849 and left for Arad to meet their fate.

The Almásys, an old noble family from Zsadány and Törökszentmiklós, were linked to the mansion through the marriage of Countess Stephanie Maria Wenckheim and Count Kálmán Almásy. Their son Dénes (Dennis)and his wife Ella Károlyi Almásy were very popular in Gyula due to their “infinite modesty”. The count’s wife donated large sums to support the building of the grammar school and the nearby József Sanatorium.

The last Almásy heir, Alajos, committed suicide in 1945. His younger brother Kálmándecided to stay in Britain when World War II broke out. After the war the mansion was nationalised and was used to house first a trade school, then a nursing school with halls of residence, and finally an orphanage.In the 1960s a large portion of the mansion’s park was converted into a building site for thermal baths. Occupancy of the mansion gradually ended in the 1990s.

The Harruckern-Wenckheim-Almásy Mansion in Gyula also played an important role in Hungary’s cultural life.In 1746 it was the first mansion in Hungary to house a theatre performance.The grandfather of Ferenc Erkel, the composer of Hungary’s national anthem,lived in the mansion as a house musician and master of ceremonies. The great composer Ferenc Erkelhimself was a frequent visitor. Members of more than one generation of the Erkel family gave piano concerts during soirées at the mansion. The famed artists Mihály Munkácsy started his career as a painter under the tutelage of Elek Szamosy, who was in charge of making copies of and restoring old family portraits and other paintings in the family’s collection.

Tales from the Almásy Mansion

Who was responsible for the smooth daily running of mansions? For the luxury? How did things look behind the scenes in the homes of the nobility?


Museum and Souvenir Shop

Thinking about taking some memories back home in a tangible form? Come and visit our souvenir shop, where a wide selection of gifts can help you talk even more vividly to your friends and loved ones about your experiences in the Almásy Mansion. Our selection of gifts includes the products of craftsmen from Békés County as well as some fine replicas of the objects displayed at the exhibition and souvenirs with the logo of the mansion.

Event space

The Almásy Mansion Visitor’s Centre not only provides an insight into daily life at the residences of the nobility but also offers space for family and corporate events in the unique setting and cosy atmosphere of the chapel or the meeting room adjoining the caf&eacute. Contact us by e-mail or call the Visitor’s Centre (+36 66 650 812) and ask for the prices.

Mansion Café

Top quality, impeccable service standards - as befitting a mansion. We strive to treat visitors like nobility. Also accessible through a separate entrance and with opening hours independent of those of the mansion museum, the Mansion Café offers beverages, exquisite coffee and gateaux.The Mansion Café is open to both visitors to the exhibition and members of the general public.

Mansion Café's page

Permament exhibition

Daily Life and Holidays in the Mansion

The life of the invisible domestic staff has always been a secret. The Almásy mansion reveals this secret.
We offer an insight into the exciting life of the nobles who once lived in the mansion and the daily life of the domestic staff serving them. Impress

Using 21st century interactive technologies, we offer visitors the thrill of discovering who stoked the stoves, how many litres of water were consumed in a day, who washed the countess’s lingerie, what the daily schedule of the domestic staff was like, who was responsible for what and, in general, where and how the domestic staff who invisibly served the daily needsof a noble familyand unnoticeably made their lives comfortable lived.

As the life of the aristocracy was not only about soirées, the exhibition also presents their daily life through their personal effects as well as their written and unwritten code of behaviour. It also familiarises visitors with the table manners of the time, the cuisine, the daily routines of the family, dress codes, the functions of the individual rooms, the heating and lighting techniques of the time and other interesting aspects. The mansion is located in a wonderful park where visitors can relax among maple, oak and rowan trees, enjoying the small-town ambience and a setting redolent of history.

Temporary Exhibition


The Guardian of Treasures

The Ferenc Erkel Museum of Gyula is 150 years old.

The Ferenc Erkel Museum is Hungary’s third oldest rural museum. It was founded in 1868 by Janos Mogyorossy a noble and steward who was committed to keeping the values of the past. In honour of the 150th anniversary of the museum’s foundation, a temporary exhibition has opened where besides the outstanding artefacts of the museum’s collection, unseen pieces are also showcased to the public.

The purpose of the exhibition is to showcase the often adverse history of the museum, the sacrificial labours of the employees, the prominent components of the tens of thousands of artefacts and along with these to give a worthy introduction to the region’s history.

“The Guardian of Treasures” was built to conform to the unique modernity of the museum’s permanent exhibits. The museum’s displayed historic, archaeological and ethnographic artefacts are emphasized by 21st century interactive tools, installations and spectacular visual effects. Mobile applications help the viewers find the interesting details of selected snapshots from the museum’s rich historical photographic collection. The visitors can explore the museum’s former buildings by placing the building’s models to their place of origin on a map. They can also listen to folk songs and interview recordings from Gyula and surrounding areas in an unconventional way and their experience gets completed by learning Romanian folk dance steps from Mehkerek.

Naturally, it is impossible to showcase the museum’s complete collection. For this reason, the promoters of the exhibition chose objects that bear the most interesting, spectacular, exceptional and gripping stories to put on display. An example is a fine gold wreath that Ferenc Erkel received as a national gift in 1888 for his half-century chorister’s jubilee. Another is an 1849 january 1st manuscript from Ferenc Erkel that was introduced to the media by the museum in early September. The visitors of the exhibition can also view one of the first objects of the museum which is a bronze helmet found in Endrod in 1872 and which was obtained by the museum in 1874. The helmet from the early Iron Age is more than 2500 years old and was displayed at the 1889 Paris World Expo also.

The exhibition can be visited from 8 September 2018 to 8 September 2019 at the Almasy Mansion Visitor’s Center in Gyula.


Opening hours

  • Tuesday-Sunday: 10.00-18.00
    Monday: closed
  • Cashier's desk closes at: 17:00

Contact Us

  • Telephone number: +36 (66) 650-218
  • Email: kastely@gyulakult.hu


Adjoining the Castle Baths, the Almásy Mansion Visitor’s Centre in Gyula is situated across from the castle. Lying along the Hungarian-Romanian border, Gyula is accessible by road from Budapest along the M5 motorway and the M44 road and from Szeged and Debrecen along the 47 road via Békéscsaba.

City map


Standard tickets

HUF 2200
  • Four-in-one package
    HUF 3600
  • Gyulakult package
    HUF 5000
  • Visit Gyula Card Gyula package
    HUF 4800

Discount tickets

HUF 1100
  • Groups (10 persons or above)
    HUF 1000 /persons
  • Four-in-one package
    HUF 1800
  • Four-in-one package for groups (10 persons or above)
    HUF 1700 /person
  • Gyulakult package
    HUF 2500 /person
  • Visit Gyula Card Gyula package
    HUF 2400 /person

Group ticket

10 persons or above
HUF 2000 /persons
  • Four-in-one package
    HUF 3400 /persons

Discount tickets

HUF 200

Standard tickets

HUF 400

Package deals


Four-in-one package

Includes visit to: Gyulai Almásy-kastély Látogatóközpont állandó kiállítása, aktuális időszaki kiállítása és toronykilátója valamint a Gyulai vár


Gyulakult package

Includes visit to: Gyulai Almásy-kastély Látogatóközpont állandó kiállítása (1 alkalommal) és toronykilátója, Gyulai vár, Erkel Ház, Ladics Ház, Kohán Képtár.


Visit Gyula Card Gyula package

Includes visit to: Gyulai Almásy-kastély Látogatóközpont állandó kiállítása (2 alkalommal) és toronykilátója, Gyulai vár, Erkel Ház, Ladics Ház, Kohán Képtár.

Additional information
  • Day-time students between 6 and 26 years of age and adults between 62 and 70 years of age are eligible for discount tickets when showing their IDs.
  • Residents with a permanent address or place of stay in Gyula are eligible for a 50% discount.
  • Admission is free for the disabled and children under 6.